Creamy Mushroom Stroganoff with Whole Wheat Noodles

9 Aug


I’ve been meaning to make this dish for about a week now, ever since I bought the mushrooms…last week. These were just on the brink of being too far gone (let’s face it, they probably were past their prime, but we should all take a risk in the name of food every now and then, right?) and I had a hankering for something savory! If you ever make stroganoff or any variation of it, TWO ingredients are truly vital and make this recipe deelish: dry sherry and worcestershire sauce (took way too many tries to spell that right). I was able to whip this dish up in under an hour, which is pretty surprising considering I also made the noodles and cashew cream homemade! I guess it helped that I had another pair of hands helping out πŸ™‚

This is not a hard recipe, just something that got thrown into a pan, so the measurements aren’t exact! Taste as you go πŸ™‚

Creamy Mushroom Stroganoff

  • 2 tbsp Canola Oil
  • 2 cups Chopped Baby Bella Mushrooms
  • Whole cloves of garlic (I used about 5, but I adore garlic!)
  • 1/2 cup Chopped Onions (omit if you detest)
  • 2 tbsp All-Purpose Flour
  • 1.5-2 cups of Vegetable Stock (depending on how thick/thin you want your sauce)
  • At least 2 tbsp Worcestershire Sauce (again, taste and repeat)
  • ~1/4 cup Dry Sherry (I just kept dumping more in. Love it.)
  • Salt/pepper to taste
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup of Cashew Cream (recipe below)
  • Parsley for garnish

In a large skillet, heat oil over medium heat and add garlic cloves (chopped, pressed, whole, whatever you prefer). Add onions and let cook until translucent. Stir in mushrooms, lower the heat and let cook until they’ve softened and smell wonderful. Stir in the all-purpose flour, add vegetable stock and bring to a low boil. Reduce heat and let simmer so all the flavors can begin blending. Add worcestershire sauce and dry sherry. Keep simmering! At this time, I would recommend getting your noodles all boiled and ready! The longer the sauce simmers, the better it tastes and the thicker it will be. Feel free to add other spices of your choosing in, such as onion powder, garlic powder, rosemary, etc. Slowly stir in cashew cream. Taste again, as I decided to add more worcestershire sauce and sherry to the mix after this. Heat thoroughly and pour over pasta noodles! Enjoy!

Cashew Cream

This really isn’t cream, it’s just a thicker version of cashew milk. Soak your raw cashews for a couple hours before making this! You will have some leftover.

  • 1 cup raw cashews, soaked
  • ~3/4 cup water
  • 1 1/2 tsp your favorite sweetener (maple syrup, agave, honey, etc)
  • Dash of salt

Place all ingredients into a high quality blender. Start with a little water only, working your way to the desired thickness of the cream that you want. Blend on high for a couple of minutes until very smooth. Cashew cream! Easy.

Notes:

delightful homemade noodles!

  • I think I should try making this with Seitan cutlets or meatballs…or somehow turned this into a baked dish. Intriguing.
  • Seriously. Sherry is a wonderful thing. Once you start cooking with it, you will find ways to work it into other dishes…cooking with (any) wine really adds depth!
  • Any noodle works for this recipe. I just whipped up some half whole wheat/half semolina noodles that I cut into thick strips. Not quite the egg noodle you would typically find with this sort of dish, but still good.

I think I’ve scoped out some very appealing Estate Sales to go to on Friday morning…one of which has vintage Pyrex! Eek! Need to control myself and not start throwing money at people. I love sifting through what other people may see as junk and see what can be found. Treasure is everywhere. It doesn’t help that I just watched a few episodes of “American Pickers”. Those guys find the most bizarre and interesting stuff!Β  I, too, hope to one day be an eccentric old woman, waving a broomstick, and yelling at people to “get offa mah property” which is covered with antiques. I’m aiming high, that’s for sure. πŸ˜‰

3 Responses to “Creamy Mushroom Stroganoff with Whole Wheat Noodles”

  1. &rea August 10, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    Looks tasty and I love cashew cream sauces. Actually, I just love cashews in anything or alone.

    http://www.mangledlollipop.wordpress.com

  2. 300hikes August 10, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    I really want to try this.

    • Stephanie August 10, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

      you should try it! let me know how it goes πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

