Taco Pizza

7 Aug

deelish.

I saw Pioneer Woman’s post on Taco Pizza back in May and was intrigued. A combination of two things I adore: taco + pizza.  PW made the recipe very easy to follow and rather a quick meal to throw together, as long as you have the ingredients. I tweaked it a bit for my own tastes (and made it vegan!)

Taco Pizza, originally by the Pioneer Woman!

I only changed a few things, but followed her recipe pretty closely. Instead of black beans, I used vegetarian refried beans as the base (or sauce, I guess) of the pizza. I also used Mexican-style veggie crumbles, heated in a pan with cumin, garlic powder, onion powder and chili powder + some water. I smooshed the pizza onto my Silpat, making it thinner than I normally would. I assembled it as such: refried beans generously spread around, veggie crumbles, & vegan cheese (I grated some Follow Your Heart cheddar…not as good as Daiya, but it got the job done.) This was baked for about 20 minutes. Once done, I spread some homemade salsa on top with chopped fresh baby spinach.

My favorite part of this dish was the sour cream mixture drizzled on top. I made this using raw cashews (soaked for one hour), lemon juice and salt. Processed until smooth, then added one avocado. Along the way, just to help with texture and thinness, I added some water. Lastly, Cholula hot sauce was folded in and voila! A very flavorful, but dairy-free sour cream substitute. It was very rich-tasting and creamy, thanks to one of my favorite things in the world: the avocado. This had a sort of refreshing, cooling effect to the spiciness of the fresh salsa and pizza. YUM. Happiness.

4 Responses to “Taco Pizza”

  1. Kimber August 7, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Yum! I too live PW’s recipes! I love that you vegan-ized it but kept it yummy! Thanks for all your kind words! I’m keeping your blog bookmarked as well!

    • Stephanie August 8, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      pioneer woman is great! thanks for checking my blog out 🙂

  2. kankana August 8, 2011 at 12:36 am #

    I am not a fan of taco but when presented this way .. i would love it 🙂

    • Stephanie August 8, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      i’m pretty sure everything is better in the form of a pizza! 🙂

Leave a Reply

