Vintage Pyrex Overload

31 Jul

Oh dear. I have a problem.

I’m addicted to buying vintage Pyrex cookware!

ITSSOPRETTY. and apparently there are tons of other people out there with a similar obsession to mine…PYREXLOVE.COM. I love picking pieces up at various thrift stores and today, my sister and I ventured to this incredibly overwhelming antique mall,

i basically shrieked when I saw this display in the antique mall...

Brass Armadillo, in Arvada, CO. SO MUCH TO LOOK AT. Massive place filled with good crap and bad crap. We literally found Pyrex cookware in every aisle, in various places. I just kept grabbing things and was dazzled by the pretty patterns…ack! I’m not sure what it is…the nostalgia of them or that they’ve lasted so long and are still going strong! My mom has old Pyrex and they’re just so reliable and lovely. I already have a crap ton and I’m only 24…I’ll have an entire kitchen of Pyrex by the time I’m 30. eek.

Brass Armadillo was just such a neat place with aisle just full of fascinating antiques. Many of the items have such history and you want to know their story! We just perused the rows and rows of pre-loved things and found many things that we remember seeing at our grandparents’ homes and stuff that my parents still have at their house! Very quirky, random things, like skiing posters from Breckenridge in the ’80s with a hot dude whisking down the slopes in tight tight spandex pants. Not sure how I resisted buying that…

between the thrift store and the antique mall, I got all this for about $55. i'm happy!

I’m already thinking of what to buy on my next trip to the antique mall…definitely need to wear better shoes next time! Feet hurt!

Time to make something interesting for dinner!

2 Responses to “Vintage Pyrex Overload”

  1. pearlandpine August 1, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    I almost just fell out of my chair looking at that picture! I’m a total vintage pyrex addict. In fact, I just bought that orange bowl right in the center of the picture this weekend!

  2. Cara-Mia August 2, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    WOW!! I love these photos. I just started my collection in June and can’t believe how quickly it’s built up. At first I was mostly buying stuff at antique stores because they’re so plentiful there, but it’s SO exciting to find Pyrex at a thrift store for like $2. Antique store prices are usually not so great, but after seeing how much you got for $55 it sounds like that one must have had decent prices!

Leave a Reply

